icebergs

After a great workout on Friday, a conversation started up around the gym as we were stretching about before and after photos and success stories.  I can’t recall exactly how we got going on the topic, but we were all interested in what others had to say as always.  This is one of the things I like most about our gym community – almost everyone is interested in the stories and successes of those around them.  

Because it’s a topic that’s been on my mind lately (and one that I just posted about), I was quick to share my displeasure with being reduced to just a before and after photo.  I know that those who know me understand that there is so much behind both sides of the photo, but I do get frustrated when people only see the surface.  No matter who it is and what kind of transformation they’ve made, the side-by-side photos are just the tip of the iceberg.  

I completely own this issue as my own.  It’s another example of having to find peace with the actions and choices of others, over which I have no control.  I can only control myself and my thoughts, so I’m working to reframe my thinking on this subject.

One friend continued the iceberg metaphor by saying “There are a lot of icebergs out there. People are going to choose which ones they explore and learn from.”  If it frustrates me that people may only see the surface through the photo that is presented to them, I can take it upon myself to make this particular iceberg hospitable for curious explorers.

We also chatted a bit about the responsibility that some of us feel to put ourselves out there, having fought through some struggle and come out on the other side.  I know I’ve often felt this way…with so many junk gurus out there and so much misinformation, I do feel a responsibility to share my experiences with changing my life to possibly give someone in a similar situation an opportunity to learn from what I experienced.  I never claim to have it all figured out, but I do think someone else out there can take something from what I’ve been through along this journey and apply that to their own journey.

So my feelings that I have something to say and should make an effort to say it were reaffirmed again.  I’ve got to continue to challenge myself to speak up and put myself out there to satisfy this desire.  Some of the comments I made in that gym conversation a couple of days ago really caused me to step outside my comfort zone in terms of what I would usually share, but it was worthwhile.  Sharing more of myself freely will hopefully send the message that this particular iceberg is a safe and welcoming place to explore and learn.

Leave a Reply

