Asian Broccoli Salad

The photo isn’t pretty, but the food was delicious!

photo 1

I actually whipped this up fully expecting it to be blah (hence the lame photo).  I hardly paid attention to what I was adding.  So when I tasted it and loved it, I immediately scrambled to jot down what I thought I had added and recruited the husband to make another batch to verify.

The dressing is nice and creamy, thanks to the almond butter.  It reminds me a bit of an Asian coleslaw recipe that always seems to show up on potluck tables, only richer and less sweet.

I’m so glad I have that second batch of dressing ready to go in the fridge to make another salad in the next couple of days!

Asian Broccoli Salad

  • 4 smallish heads of broccoli
  • 1/2 small onion, diced
  • 2-3 tbsp sunflower seeds
  • 2 cups snap peas, chopped in half

Dressing:

  • 3 tbsp tamari
  • 1/3 cup almond butter
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp chili flakes
  • couple of dashes black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp crushed garlic
  • 1/2 tsp crushed ginger
Leave a Reply

