Progress and success

This morning’s weigh in saw me cross the 75lbs lost milestone.  This felt huge, especially because the scale hasn’t moved much for me in the last couple of weeks.  Seeing that lower number come up this morning just drove home the importance of two keys to weight loss: not letting yourself get knocked off track and measuring progress in multiple ways.

It’s so easy to succumb to those desires to eat a bag of chips or order pizza when you haven’t been seeing progress on the scale.  I have often had the thought cross my mind of “well, all this healthy food isn’t helping, so why not give in to the cravings?”  But it only takes one or two weak moments where you do give in to the cravings to learn that that unhealthy food will certainly get the scale moving again….into bigger numbers.  I know that the lifestyle I’m living right now is a healthy one.  I know that if I stick to my plan, track my food and don’t overeat, the pounds will continue to drop off.  Our bodies are not perfect machines though, and we can’t expect perfectly consistent weight loss over months and months.

For so many people, myself included, seeing the numbers drop on the scale is a major motivator.  But any kind of success should have that same motivational quality.  That’s why I believe it’s so important to measure your success in numerous ways.  I have weight loss goals, measurement goals, body fat/muscle goals, fitness goals and other random goals that I have listed and mapped out.  Last week my weight didn’t change.  But my average pace per km of my runs that week continually improved.  That fitness goal provided a healthy dose of motivation for me to stay on track for the next week.  If you only focus on your weight you may also be neglecting the overall health of your entire body.  I not only want to weigh less, but I want to be fit and strong and the healthiest person I can be.  Gain motivation from multi-faceted goals and you’ll be much more likely to stay on track to meet all your goals.

Leave a Reply

