Photo of Today – January 5

I’m trying to get back in the habit of taking photos regularly.  If I was the type to make resolutions for the new year, I suppose this would be one of them.

I thought about trying to take a photo each day, but that seemed like too daunting a task.  It also seemed like the type of project that could turn stressful (ZOMG it’s 9 pm and I haven’t taken a photo yet today!).  So instead, I’ll be carrying my camera more regularly in the normal course of daily life.  No more moments of “Wow, what a great sunset.  Too bad I don’t have my camera.”

As I was packing up to leave for work this morning, I saw my camera and remembered my idea to carry it more often.  I threw it in my bag on the way out the door.

On my way through Elk Island Park, I noticed that the trees looked like they had some heavy hoarfrost.  Closer to work, the sun was getting closer to rising and I could see that there was, in fact, a very heavy coating of hoarfrost on all the trees and fences.  Later in the day, I ducked out of the office to take some photos.

I’m so glad that I saw my camera and thought to pack it this morning!  These were some of the biggest, clearest hoarfrost crystals that I’ve ever seen.  I’m also very glad that I got to look out of my office window at a frosty, sparkly winter wonderland all day.

Leave a Reply

