Up and growing

planting 0

A couple of weeks ago I finally got my container garden planted and growing.  Our spring was very late this year, with snow falling and below-freezing weather until the end of May.  I was feeling extra late until I made a trip to the garden centre for plants and saw a lot of plants still on the shelves and many other people rushing to buy their plants and get them into the soil.

planting 1

I mostly plant herbs and some colourful flowers in my little container garden.  We have a small yard and patio area, so space is definitely a factor.  I love these long window-box type planters.  They’re perfect for my kind of garden.

I had a much better plan for my containers this year than I did last year.  Okay, I didn’t have a plan last year.  So any planning is an improvement.  I laid all the plants out in the empty containers to get an idea of who would go where before I even began.  I was only left with a few surplus lettuce plants that couldn’t fit in.

planting 3

Curtis was really big into helping.  I left my camera lying around and this is what happened.

planting 2

I love getting my hands in soil.  A couple of hours after starting, I had my little container garden planted and watered.

This year I planted romaine lettuce, basil, oregano, sage, tarragon, rosemary, garlic chives, dill, thyme, and lavender.  I also have some flowers: begonias, impatiens, fuscias and coleus.

planting 5

The weather has been sunny and warm for the past week so things are growing well.  I’ve lost one lettuce plant – it was snapped in the transplanting process.  I snipped some oregano this afternoon to use in supper tonight.  The first fresh herbs of the year!

One thought on “Up and growing

  1. Oh, wow! You’ve done so great. All of my herbs died. I planed them in boxes on my balcony and then we ended up having 11 days of pounding rain as soon as they started to sprout. There was no hope for the little guys. I guess I WON’T be having fresh, organic basil and parsley (and thyme, rosemary, mint, cilantro, etc.) all summer long. Boo!

Leave a Reply

